Horn of Less than Plenty

I don’t know much about Trevor Horn. To be truthful, the 80s were a lost decade for me musically; fortunately 20-20 hindsight finds this to be largely addition by subtraction. But I digress.

In my dream, I was at some sort of local music festival. It was sparsely attended, so much so that musicians mingled with the audience, many trying to strike up conversations with indifferent fans. One of the musicians was Trevor Horn, who kept introducing himself to increasingly more reluctant fans. He was visibly disappointed that no one knew who he was, and that many avoided eye contact so as not to engage him at all.

“Trevor Horn”, I said proactively, “I’m Paul Mena, professional nobody”. He was all smiles. I told him I knew of his musical contributions with Yes and The Buggles, and then his production work after that.

“Are you familiar with ‘The Transformer’?”

Now I should point out that I’m not sure he that said “Transformer” or something else. It was a fabrication of my subconscious, making what happened next that much more ridiculous.

“I’m not only familiar with it, but I have it in vinyl,” was my proud reply.

“Vinyl? Well good for you.”

He continued to work the crowd, which was now scattering at his approach.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

