here’s where it gets boring

too_close_20151002

Under ideal circumstances, the human body is designed to heal itself. Eleven days ago, a team of surgeons made a six-inch incision into my abdomen and removed what was left of a bad disc, replacing it with the small synthetic device that now occupies the space between my L5 and S1 vertebrae. In the next 12 to 24 months, bone will form around this device, fusing these two vertebrae together. In the next 2 weeks or so, enough scar tissue will have been formed to render my abdomen fully recovered. Between now and then, pain medication is allowing this to happen while I resume most of my normal daily activities. In truth, I’ll walk much more than I normally do during a work day, sleep more soundly and eat a greater number of balanced meals. So in a very real sense, Big Pharma is allowing me to simulate far more normality than normal, all to get me to a normal place more quickly. Exciting, eh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

