deeply moving times

moving-van-backed-up

We’re not moving – yet – but it seems that four out of five of my children are. Gone are the days of multiple generations of family living close by. Mary and I are both transplants to Massachusetts, so it should come as no surprise that the next generation is seeking a change of scenery. I grew up in the Northeast, but between the rough winters and high cost of living it’s becoming increasingly tougher to stay here. So while I’m sad, I’m also empathetic.

I remember my first move away from Long Island in 1986. The immediate area around Farmingdale was all I had ever known, but I knew the world was bigger than that, and I couldn’t wait to explore it. So while I worry about my kids adjusting, I also look forward to vicariously enjoying the adventures of a new generation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

