dream sequence – part 61

Birth of Venus (detail)

It was good to see her back in the office again. She had been nominated to a cabinet-level position in the new government, only to have her candidacy derailed by a scandal.

The scandal was literally old news: a grainy photo of a much younger woman, posing provocatively on a hotel bed with her top off. The big hair, big glasses and makeup screamed “eighties”, but there she was, trending all over the internet of 2017.

The president initially refused to let her withdraw from consideration, but once she made up her mind, she boarded a one-way flight back to Boston.

“I’m glad you’re back”, I said. “I know it’s been a bit of a roller coaster ride for you.”

“I don’t want to talk about it,” she said curtly. I walked away, embarrassed.

About an hour later, she came back to apologize. “I didn’t mean to be so bitchy. It has been a roller coaster ride, to put it mildly, but I’m also glad to be back.”

I thanked her, but also told her that she really didn’t need to apologize.

“To be perfectly honest,” she added, “I’m relieved.”

“Me too,” I said. She smiled, lingered for a moment, and then walked away.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

